Tagged: Suffocation

Suffocation is an American death metal band that was formed in 1988 in Long Island, New York. The band comprises vocalist Frank Mullen, guitarists Terrance Hobbs and Guy Marchais, drummer Dave Culross and bassist Derek Boyer. Suffocation rose to prominence of death metal and created a blueprint for the genre for the 1990s with their 1991 debut album Effigy of the Forgotten. Suffocation released six studio albums.
The band’s raw death metal style uses guttural vocals with a downtuned guitar sound, fast complex guitar riffs and drumming, and a sophisticated sense of songwriting. Blabbermouth.net described Suffocation’s style as “brutal death metal”.
Suffocation was formed in 1988 in Long Island, New York, by vocalist Frank Mullen, bassist Josh Barohn, guitarists Guy Marchais and Todd German, and Barohn’s friend on drums. Guitarists Terrance Hobbs and Doug Cerrito, along with drummer Mike Smith, former members of a local band Mortuary that disbanded at the time, joined Suffocation and…